NJPW World Tag League 2017


It’s only September, but the teams for the 2017 NJPW World Tag League have apparently already been set. Dave Meltzer gave the names for all 16 teams that are set to compete in the tournament on today’s installment of Wrestling Observer Radio, and while some of the teams are pretty much a given, several are a surprise.

The Chosen Bros, Matt Riddle and Jeff Cobb, will apparently debut in NJPW during this year’s tournament. The current Ring Of Honor World Champion Cody Rhodes will also be competing in the tournament, teaming up with Hangman Page. We will also get a Young Lion team of Katsuya Kitamura and Tomoyuki Oka competing in this year’s tourney. Minoru Suzuki and Zack Sabre Jr. will also be teaming up.

NJPW World Tag League 2017 Competitors

  • The Chosen Bros (Matt Riddle & Jeff Cobb)
  • War Machine
  • Killer Elite Squad
  • Guerrillas Of Destiny
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi & Michael Elgin
  • Kazuchika Odada & YOSHI-HASHI
  • Hirooki Goto & Tomohiro Ishii
  • Minoru Suzuki & Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Kenny Omega & Chase Owens
  • Cody & Hangman Page
  • Bad Luck Fale & Yujiro Takahashi
  • Juice Robinson & Manabu Nakanishi
  • TenCozy (Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima)
  • Katsuya Kitamura & Tomoyuki Oka
  • Yuji Nagata & Togi Makabe

The World Tag League is held under a points system, with 2 points for a win, 1 for a draw and 0 for a loss.

This year’s World Tag Leage tournament is scheduled to take place from November 18th through December 11th. The winner of the tournament will get a shot at the IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Titles a WrestleKingdom 12 at The Tokyo Dome on January 4, 2018.

The post NJPW World Tag League 2017: Teams Revealed For This Year’s Tournament appeared first on – Wrestling News, WWE News, TNA News, Wrestling Results.

Facebook Comments