NJPW G1 Climax 27

Photo: NJPW

During this morning’s Kizuna Road show, NJPW announced the list of competitors for this year’s G1 Climax 27 tournament. The blocks and match cards for the shows will be announced during next week’s Kizuna Road shows, but at least we know who is going to be involved in this year’s tournament.

NJPW’s G1 Climax is a round-robin tournament, with winners from two blocks wrestling in the final to decide that year’s winner. In its current format, the tournament lasts four weeks. The winner of each block is determined by a points system; two points for a victory, one point for a draw, and zero points for a loss. The winner of the tournament gets a shot at the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at WrestleKingdom on January 4th at The Tokyo Dome.

This year’s tournament will run from July 17th to August 13th, and most, if not all, of the shows will air live on NJPW World.

G1 Climax 27 Competitors

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Togi Makabe
  • Michael Elgin
  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Toru Yano
  • Kenny Omega
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Tama Tonga
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • EVIL
  • Satoshi Kojima
  • Yuji Nagata
  • Juice Robinson
  • Minoru Suzuki
  • Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Kota Ibushi

Ibushi and Sabre are the only “surprises” in this year’s tournament. Ibushi, because he’s been competing as Tiger Mask W, and Sabre due to the fact that he would normally be considered a junior heavyweight. Either way, both are welcome additions to this year’s G1.

The post NJPW Announces Competitors For This Year’s G1 Climax 27 Tournament appeared first on – Wrestling News, WWE News, TNA News, Wrestling Results.

Facebook Comments